Cooper, Longfellow Middle Schools Earn 2017 Governor’s Award for Educational Excellence; FCPS Honored with Distinguished Achievement Award

By News Release
Awards and Recognition
August 08, 2017

Cooper Middle School and Longfellow Middle School are among nine schools statewide to earn the 2017 Governor’s Award for Educational Excellence, the highest recognition in the Virginia Index of Performance (VIP) awards for advanced learning and achievement. Fairfax County Public Schools is one of 15 divisions to earn the 2017 Virginia Board of Education Distinguished Achievement Award.

The VIP incentive program recognizes schools and divisions that exceed state and federal accountability standards and achieve excellence goals established by Virginia’s governor and the Board of Education.

Recipients of the Award for Educational Excellence must meet all state and federal achievement benchmarks, achieve all applicable excellence goals for elementary reading, enrollment in Algebra I by the eighth grade, enrollment in college-level courses, high school graduation, attainment of advanced diplomas, increased attainment of career and industry certifications and, if applicable, participation in the Virginia Preschool Initiative.

A total of 42 Fairfax County Schools were named recipients of the Board of Education Excellence Awards, and 21 schools earned the Board of Education’s Distinguished Achievement Awards.

“All FCPS schools are centers of learning excellence for their communities and these awards recognize the great work ongoing across our county in achieving Portrait of a Graduate outcomes for all students,” said Superintendent Scott S. Brabrand. “I offer my personal congratulations to the students, teachers, and administrators at these Fairfax County Public Schools for earning this recognition from the Governor and Virginia Board of Education.”

Schools earning the Board of Education Excellence Award include: Canterbury Woods Elementary, Carson Middle, Chantilly High, Chesterbrook Elementary, Churchill Road Elementary, Colvin Run Elementary, Floris Elementary, Forestville Elementary, Frost Middle, Great Falls Elementary, Greenbriar West Elementary, Haycock Elementary, Kent Gardens Elementary, Kilmer Middle, Lake Braddock Secondary, Langley High, Louise Archer Elementary, Madison High, Mantua Elementary, Marshall High, McLean High, Mosby Woods Elementary, Navy Elementary, Oak Hill Elementary, Oakton High, Poplar Tree Elementary, Robinson Secondary, Rocky Run Middle, Sangster Elementary, Spring Hill Elementary, Springfield Estates Elementary, Sunrise Valley Elementary, Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology, Wakefield Forest Elementary, Waples Mill Elementary, Waynewood Elementary, West Springfield High, Westbriar Elementary, White Oaks Elementary, Willow Springs Elementary, Wolftrap Elementary, and Woodson High. These schools were honored for meeting all state and federal accountability benchmarks and for making significant progress toward goals for increased student achievement and expanded educational opportunities set by the Board of Education.

Schools earning the Board of Education Distinguished Achievement Award include: Centreville High, Crossfield Elementary, Flint Hill Elementary, Franklin Middle, Hunt Valley Elementary, Irving Middle, Keene Mill Elementary, Laurel Ridge Elementary, Lees Corner Elementary, Lemon Road Elementary, McNair Elementary, Oak View Elementary, Oakton Elementary, Powell Elementary, Silverbrook Elementary, South County High, Stratford Landing Elementary, Thoreau Middle, Union Mill Elementary, Vienna Elementary, and West Springfield Elementary. These schools were recognized for meeting all state and federal benchmarks and for making progress toward the goals of the governor and the Board of Education.

More information about Virginia’s VIP incentive program for schools and school divisions is available on the VDOE website.



For more information, contact the FCPS Office of Communication and Community Relations at 571-423-1200.